|
John
|
 |
« on: December 28, 2005, 03:10:53 am » |
|
I found this site has stolen some images from MicroStockPhoto and it bugs me. I know it happens but where it does and I find out about it, I'll take steps to lett he site owners know that it's not on... I couldn't find an email adress to contact the site owners.. Anyway, the site that stole the images is here http://mamool.blogfa.com/Because they didn't simply download the images and instead hotlinked (so they're stealing bandwidth as welll the little monkeys) to the site itself, it was simply a matter of adding a little message to the image they linked to. 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Ice
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2005, 09:40:39 am » |
|
I found this site has stolen some images from MicroStockPhoto Thanks for your fast responce John. I really like the way you have "payed them back" in kindness. You where still nice with them. They are stealing from all of us. I think there is a lot of sites with our images on that might be miss-used. I don't know how you found out but thanks! 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
eendicott
Micro
Offline
Posts: 12
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2005, 02:39:48 pm » |
|
John - I checked the site last night and your plan worked, but when I checked again this morning, they fixed the problem. Any way you can just block their IP address?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
elvinstar
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2005, 03:41:29 pm » |
|
John, most hosting companies provide a way in the control panel to block hotlinking. If you look around, you may find it in there.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Ice
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2005, 09:01:23 pm » |
|
John - I checked the site last night and your plan worked, but when I checked again this morning, they fixed the problem. Any way you can just block their IP address? They just removed the one image from the front page but somehow got around your changes...
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
John
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2005, 09:58:49 pm » |
|
Yeah, they have copied the image and put it on to their own hosting site. The parrot image has now gone. I'll investigate blocking their ip address.. They obviously know that they've been collared because they've taken steps... Cheeky buggers 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Ice
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2005, 09:43:31 pm » |
|
Yeah, they have copied the image and put it on to their own hosting site. The parrot image has now gone. I'll investigate blocking their ip address.. They obviously know that they've been collared because they've taken steps... Cheeky buggers  Yea they are.. Gues its one of those things. Not the end of the world.. Did you get a lot of new photographers that registered after that? 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
John
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2006, 03:03:48 am » |
|
A fair few 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
eendicott
Micro
Offline
Posts: 12
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2006, 05:46:33 pm » |
|
John- the Parrot is image is back! Full size!
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
John
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2006, 07:40:36 pm » |
|
So it is but I see all the others are gone and so is the background image of wedding rings with flowers gone...
Hmmm...
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
icefront
Photo poster

Offline
Posts: 27
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2006, 01:35:10 am » |
|
SS had the same problem a month ago...
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Gracey
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: February 01, 2006, 03:30:09 pm » |
|
I see this is still happening. It's a shame - why not just remove the pic, reupload with a new name?
Doubtful that they will do anything about it, legally. The blog is hosted by "ouriran.com".
I remember this issue at SS but I have no idea how they stopped it.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Treat people as if they were what they ought to be and you will help them become what they are capable of becoming. (Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe) MicrostockPhoto Portfolio
|
|
|
|
John
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: February 01, 2006, 09:41:12 pm » |
|
That won't work. The image has been downloaded and hosted on a different server. I've contacted them and asked them to remove it.
Originally there were around 3 or 4 images from this site. The others have been removed.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
John
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2006, 12:32:37 am » |
|
Success...
The image has been removed.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Ice
|
 |
« Reply #14 on: February 02, 2006, 11:52:49 am » |
|
Success...
The image has been removed. Thanks John! 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|